Survey methods

 

An evaluation in its strictest sense is a comparison between the goal that was set and the result that has been achieved. For cultural institutions however, the notion of evaluation is much greater: it is both a method and the overall term for several forms of surveys and investigations 

 

The empirical social sciences developed a number of methods that may be used for evaluation and visitor research. They differ mainly according to the nature of the data gathered and the character of the targeted groups 

 

Quantitative and qualitative data

 

Quantitative methods are most commonly used for surveys. The aim is to measure and quantify the frequency of occurrence of a particular variable in a specific sample. This implies a sufficient number of data sets so as to enable a solid statistical analysis. Only on this basis can statements be formulated as objectively as may be. Instruments of quantitative studies are for instance (partly) standardised questionnaires – be they written surveys, interviews or online surveys – or observation protocols 

 

Qualitative data requires a smaller number of data sets. The information gathered is not necessarily representative of the whole target group or of general validity. Subjective points of view and individual statements can provide extremely valuable information as well, one suggestion might be the beginning of a successful undertaking. Instruments of qualitative research are, for example, interviews with or without guideline, expert panels, focus groups or observations of a small sample.

The target groups 

 

Defining the target group and the sample of the survey is an important methodical decision. The validity of the whole survey depends on it. The criteria for inclusion and exclusion must be carefully considered in accordance with the goals of the evaluation. Those criteria guarantee that the sample is on the one hand free of any structural bias – as far as possible – and on the other hand that it is representative of the whole target group. In other words: only those, who are really able to make a statement, should be asked for it.

 

Depending on the content of the survey, the target groups might be visitors or non-visitors, all the users of a cultural institutions or just some of them. To make the choice, the defined criteria might be for example age (children, teenagers, adults and/or senior citizens), company (individual visitors or organised groups), specific characteristics (subscribers, occasional users, tourists or local population, experts, etc.) or specific behaviour (visitors to certain parts of the exhibition, only on weekdays or on weekends, using a computer, etc.). A further question of method is whether the respondents have been informed of the survey ex ante or ex post.

 

The sample size is both dependent on the methodical requirements of a survey – quantitative data needs much larger samples that qualitative data – and on the dimension of the target group. Provided the latter has just the required scale for the sample, then all individuals will be asked to take part to the survey. Sampling will be necessary in case of larger target groups.

 

Two different methods are currently used for sampling. The first consists of defining quotas based on some relevant characteristics previously known, such as the composition of the institutions’s audience for instance, or important for the survey – as an example: a sample consisting exactly evenly of men and women. The second method consists in a random selection of respondents: a specific rule is defined beforehand, such as asking every third or every tenth visitor to answer the questionnaire. In this case, the size of the sample may be reduced in comparison to the target group without any loss in its being representative or without the introduction of any bias.

Erhebungsmethoden

Genau genommen ist eine Evaluation ein Vergleich zwischen gesetztem Ziel und erreichtem Ergebnis. Auf die kulturellen Institutionen bezogen ist der Begriff weitaus umfangreicher zu verstehen. Es ist zugleich eine Methode und der Überbegriff für mehrere Untersuchungsformen.  

 

Eine breite Methodenpalette aus den empirischen Sozialwissenschaften findet in der Evaluation und Besucherforschung Anwendung. Diese Methoden unterscheiden sich nach Art der gesammelten Daten und nach Zielgruppen.  

 

Die Daten: quantitativ und qualitativ

 

Am häufigsten werden quantitative Methoden eingesetzt. Dabei geht es vor allem darum, eine Variable bzw. die Häufigkeit ihres Auftretens in einer vordefinierten Stichprobe zu messen und zu beziffern. Grundlegend ist, dass genügend Datensätze zusammengetragen werden, so dass eine solide statistische Auswertung durchgeführt werden kann. Dies ist eine Voraussetzung für eine möglichst objektive Ausarbeitung der Aussagen. Instrumente für quantitative Erhebungen sind beispielsweise (teil-)standardisierte Fragebögen – ob schriftlich, mündlich oder online – oder Beobachtungsbögen.  

 

Qualitative Daten werden in kleineren Stückzahlen bearbeitet. Erhoben werden vor allem Informationen, bei denen es nicht zwangsläufig um die Repräsentativität bzw. um die allgemeine Gültigkeit geht, sondern solche, bei denen die Subjektivität der Einzelnennungen wertvolle Erkenntnisse bringen. Instrumente der qualitativen Datenerhebung umfassen zum Beispiel Leitfadengespräche, offene Interviews, Expertengespräche, Fokusgruppen oder Beobachtungen einer kleinen Stichprobe.

Die Zielgruppen 

 

Die Definition der untersuchten Gruppe ist ein wesentlicher methodischer Schritt, von dem auch die Validität der Untersuchung abhängt. Die sorgfältig ausgearbeiteten Einschluss- und Ausschlusskriterien leiten sich von den Untersuchungszielen ab. Diese Kriterien stellen sicher, dass einerseits so wenig strukturelle Verzerrungen wie möglich entstehen, und andererseits dass auch die Repräsentativität der Stichprobe gewährleistet ist. Mit anderen Worten: dass diejenigen, die eine Aussage machen können, auch befragt werden.

 

Je nach Untersuchungsgegenstand werden Besucher oder Nicht-Besucher angesprochen, alle Nutzer einer Einrichtung oder nur eine Teilgruppe davon. Kriterien wie beispielsweise Alter (Kinder, Jugendliche, Erwachsene und/oder Senioren), Begleitung (Individual- oder Gruppenbesucher, Schulklassen), besondere Charakteristika (Abonnenten, Gelegenheitsgäste, Touristen oder Lokalbevölkerung, Fachexperten u.ä.) oder Nutzungsmuster (auf bestimmte besuchte Bereiche beschränkt, nur werktags oder an Wochenenden, Nutzung eines PCs etc.) können zur Festlegung dieser Teilgruppen dienen. Ob die Befragten vorab von der Untersuchung informiert wurden oder nicht, ist ebenso von methodischer Bedeutung.

 

Der Umfang einer Stichprobe ist ebenfalls an die methodischen Anforderungen einer Untersuchung – quantitative Daten erfordern größere Stückzahlen als qualitative – wie auch an die Größe der Zielgruppe geknüpft. Umfasst letztere die passende Anzahl an Individuen werden sie alle in einer Totalerhebung in die Untersuchung eingebunden. Ist die Zielgruppe zu groß, so wird aus ihr eine Stichprobe gebildet und eine Teilerhebung durchgeführt.

 

Diese Stichprobe kann nach einem Quotenverfahren aufgebaut sein, das die schon bekannte Besucherstruktur der Einrichtung widerspiegelt oder das ausgesuchte Charakteristika als Auswahlkriterium festlegt – z.B. genau zur Hälfte Männer und Frauen. Die Zusammenstellung der Stichprobe kann allerdings auch nach dem Zufallsprinzip erfolgen. In diesem Fall wird eine Regel vorab bestimmt, beispielsweise nur jeden Dritten oder jeden Zehnten zu befragen, die den Umfang der Stichprobe zwar reduziert, ihre Repräsentativität aber nicht beeinflusst.