Types of evaluation

Different phases of the planning process

The panning and implementation of a cultural project is generally a process encompassing a long period of time. The range of information required varies according to the project maturity. At every stage of the undertaking, the appropriate evaluation – the overall term for the types of surveys described below – can provide the necessary data.

 

 ImageComparative study:
 

A comparative study is usually done at the very beginning of the planning process. Its purpose is to give an overview of ideas and expectations currently circulating about the topic in question, and, where applicable, to present a comparison of achievements. This information is useful to draft a first concept for the project. The methods used are for example bibliographical research, expert panels or focus groups.

 ImageMarket and potential analysis:  
 

At an early stage of the planning process, it might be useful to check whether the potential users/visitors have any interest in the planned project in the first place. Though the methods used are generally quantitative, they may also be completed by qualitative methods such as focus groups or expert panels.

 ImageFront-end evaluation:
 

A front-end evaluation gathers data about views, expectations, interests and knowledge of potential visitors. It is conducted relatively early in the planning process, so as to find answers to specific questions soon enough and have the possibility to integrate the implementation of the findings in the project itself. The studies are mainly quantitative surveys (questionnaires), but might also be refined by a qualitative study.

 ImageFormative evaluation:
 

During the setting up of an exhibition for instance, a certain number of questions may arise concerning the implementation of concepts. Mock-ups and prototypes of exhibits, hands-on displays or texts etc. are specially made for that purpose and presented to respondents, who test them. The mock-ups are optimized until they fully convince the respondents as well as the project leader. These are qualitative studies in most cases.

 ImageSummative evaluation:  
 

A summative evaluation analyses the implementation of a cultural project. Visitors or users are asked for their appraisal and opinion. This is the most common form of evaluation. Its purpose is to find out the audience’s constitution and to assess their satisfaction. Thus the visitors’ or users’ feedback can be included into the final project assessment and some conclusions drawn for future projects. It is usually a quantitative survey, though qualitative methods could also help deepen the analysis.

 ImageRemedial evaluation:  
 

A remedial evaluation is carried out during the operative phase of the project. Unlike the summative evaluation, its focus is not on the post-processing. Its objective is to identify as quickly as possible the weaknesses of the project and wherever possible to rectify tem. Qualitative data is favoured in many cases.

 ImageStatus quo evaluation:  
 

The planned restructuring of a cultural offering that has been maintained over a very long period of time gives a good opportunity to carry out a complete appraisal. Its strengths and weaknesses should be identified as well as the particularly popular elements and those worthy of being preserved. Both quantitative and qualitative methods could be used for this appraisal.

 

 

Structural themes

Broader questions often arise independently of any actual project planning process. Those could also be answered with an evaluation:

 
 ImageNon-visitor studies:
 

Such a study is conducted outside the cultural institution. It addresses people who have visited the institution in the past and people who have not – or not yet. The quantitative approach enables, for example, the assessment of the degree of awareness of the population, their interests in this institution or the identification of the existing entrance barriers.

 ImagePotential analyses and image studies:
 

These are specific types of non-visitor studies. Their aim is to assess the degree of awareness or the image the institution has with the general public. It usually consists of a quantitative survey but could also comprise qualitative elements.

Evaluationsformen

Unterschiedliche Planungsphasen

Die Planung und Durchführung eines kulturellen Projektes erstreckt sich meistens auf einem längeren Zeitraum. In den unterschiedlichen Planungsphasen entsteht Bedarf an Informationen, die anhand einer geeigneten Evaluation, so der Überbegriff für die hier angesprochenen Untersuchungen, ermittelt werden können.

 

 Komparative UntersuchungKomparative Untersuchung
 

Zu Beginn der Planung liefern komparative Untersuchungen einen Überblick über die Ideen und Vorstellungen, die zu diesem Thema im Umlauf sind und ggf. einen Vergleich der schon realisierten Projekten. Dies dient dazu, ein erstes Konzept zu definieren. Methoden wie Literaturrecherchen, Expertengespräche oder Fokusgruppen kommen dabei zum Einsatz.

 Marktsondierung und PotentialanalyseMarktsondierung und Potentialanalyse  
 

Ebenfalls zu Beginn der Planung sollte überprüft werden, ob für das Vorhaben überhaupt Interesse bei den potentiellen Nutzern besteht. Zumeist werden quantitative Methoden wie Befragungen eingesetzt, können aber auch mit qualitativen Methoden wie Fokusgruppen und Expertengespräche ergänzt werden.

 Vorab-EvaluationVorab-Evaluation
 

Auch Front-end-Evaluation genannt: Mit dieser Untersuchung werden Daten zu den Vorstellungen und Erwartungen, Interesse und Wissenstand der potentiellen Besucher erhoben. Sie wird während der Planungsphase durchgeführt, um so Fragestellungen frühzeitig aufgreifen und beantworten zu können und deren Ergebnisse noch in die Umsetzung des Vorhabens einfließen zu lassen. In der Regel sind solche Untersuchungen quantitativ (Fragebogen), können aber qualitativ verfeinert werden.

  
 Formative EvaluationFormative Evaluation
 

Während der Aufbauphase einer Ausstellung beispielsweise können bestimmte Umsetzungen von Konzepte auf die Probe gestellt werden. Eigens dafür hergestellte Prototypen (von Exponaten, Texten etc.) werden den Probanden vorgelegt und daraufhin so lange verbessert, bis sie den Anforderungen sowohl der Projektverantwortlichen erfüllen als auch die Zustimmung der Probanden erhalten. Die Herangehensweise ist in der Regel qualitativ.

 Summative EvaluationSummative Evaluation 
 

Mit einer summativen Evaluation wird die Umsetzung des kulturellen Projektes überprüft. Dabei werden die Nutzer oder Besucher zu ihrer Meinung und Einschätzung befragt. Es ist die gängigste aller Evaluationen. Ziel ist es, die Besucherstruktur und -zufriedenheit zu ermitteln, und so die Rückmeldung der Nutzer in den Ergebnisbericht des Projektes aufzunehmen und Schlüsse für die Zukunft zu ziehen. Sie basiert meistens auf quantitative Befragungen, kann aber auch mit qualitativen Methoden vertieft werden.

 Nachbesserungs-EvaluationNachbesserungs-Evaluation  
 

Ähnlich wie eine summative Evaluation wird die Nachbesserungs-Evaluation während der Laufzeit des Projektes durchgeführt. Ihr Ziel ist allerdings nicht die Nachbereitung dieses Projektes sondern eine zügige Analyse der Schwachstellen, um diese nach Möglichkeit zu beheben. Hierfür werden qualitative Daten bevorzugt.

 Status quo-EvaluationStatus quo-Evaluation
 

Bei langjährigem Bestehen eines kulturellen Angebotes bietet sich die Gelegenheit an, vor einer geplanten Umstrukturierung in einer Bestandsanalyse die Stärken und Schwächen der vorhandenen Einrichtung zu überprüfen um ggf. besonders beliebte oder sinnvolle Teile davon weiterzuführen. Dazu können sowohl qualitative als auch quantitative Methoden eingesetzt werden.

 

 

Strukturelle Themen

Unabhängig vom Planungsprozess eines kulturellen Angebotes
geben grundlegende Fragestellungen Anlass zu einer Untersuchung:

 
 Nicht-BesucherbefragungNicht-Besucherbefragung
 

Eine solche Untersuchung wird außerhalb der Kultureinrichtung durchgeführt und schließt Auskunftspersonen ein, die besagte Einrichtung in der Vergangenheit möglicherweise schon besucht haben sowie solche, die es (noch) nicht taten. Auf quantitativer Basis werden so beispielsweise der Bekanntheitsgrad, das Interesse an der Institution sowie die Zugangsbarrieren ermittelt.

 Reichweiten- und ImageanalysenReichweiten- und Imageanalyse
 

Als besondere Form einer Nicht-Besucherbefragung dient diese Evaluation vor allem dazu, den Bekanntheitsgrad und das Image, die die Institution in der allgemeinen Bevölkerung hat, zu analysieren. Sie beruht meistens auf quantitativen Untersuchungen, kann aber auch qualitative Elemente aufnehmen.