Education

I began my studies in Lyon (France) with two years’ preparatory classes in humanities and social sciences for the French “Grandes Ecoles”. I then graduated from the EAP – European School of Management (today called ESCP-Europe) in Paris, Oxford and Berlin with a Master in European Management in 1995. In 1996, I completed a “Maîtrise d’ethnologie” (equivalent of a Master in Ethnology) in Strasbourg (France) and attended classes in ethnomuseology. During the years 1997-2000, I worked for a multinational company in Munich (Germany). 

 

In 2000, I settled in Karlsruhe (Germany) and started working in visitor research. At first, I was employed as a scientific assistant at the Institute of Sociology of the University of Karlsruhe (today: KIT) 2000-2002 while preparing at the same time my PhD thesis. My tutor, Prof. Dr. Hans Joachim Klein, introduced me to the theory, methods and practice of evaluation. A grant from the federal state Baden-Württemberg enabled me to go on with my doctoral research. In the meantime, I also worked freelance on several projects of evaluation, visitor research, consulting and public relations for museums or institutions in the museum sector. 

 

The PhD thesis I wrote on international and intercultural cooperation of museums in Europe was handed in in 2005 and the doctorate completed in February 2006. Soon afterwards, I took over the scientific direction of the ZEB – Centre for Evaluation and Visitor Research at the Badisches Landesmuseum Karlsruhe (Regional State Museum of Baden) for two years. 

 

Since 2008 I have been working freelance, putting my experience and knowledge of visitor research at the disposal of cultural institutions. My working languages are German, French and English 

 

I was also member of the board of ICOM Germany 2009-2013. In 2010-2011, I was asked to join the Strategic Plan committee to contribute to the development of the Strategic Plan 2011-2013 of ICOM. Furthermore, I take part in the activities of the French GRMP (Groupe de Recherche sur les Musées et le Patrimoine), a research network for museums and heritage. 

 

The focus of my research lies on visitors to museums and cultural institutions, as well as on intercultural aspects in museums.

Studium 

Mein Studium begann in Lyon (Frankreich) in den Vorbereitungsklassen zu den so genannten Grandes Ecoles mit Schwerpunkt Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften. Danach absolvierte ich ein Management-Studium an der EAP – Europäischen Wirtschaftshochschule (heute ESCP-Europe) in Paris, Oxford und Berlin von 1992 bis 1995 mit dem Abschluss als Diplom-Kauffrau. Anschließend erwarb ich 1996 eine Maîtrise d’ethnologie (entspricht einem Magister der Völkerkunde) in Straßburg (Frankreich), die ich noch mit Seminaren in Ethnomuseographie ergänzte. Zwischen 1997 und 2000 habe ich im kaufmännischen Bereich eines Münchner Großunternehmens gearbeitet.

 

Seit 2000 bin ich in Karlsruhe im Bereich der Besucherforschung aktiv. Bis 2002 war ich zunächst als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Instituts für Soziologie der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) tätig. Dort wurde ich von meinem Doktorvater, Prof. Dr. Hans Joachim Klein, in die Methoden und die Praxis der Evaluation eingeführt. Mit einem Stipendium der Landesgraduiertenförderung des Landes Baden-Württemberg konnte ich die Recherchen für meine Doktorarbeit weiterführen. Freiberuflich habe ich ebenfalls Aufträge im Bereich der Evaluation, Besucherforschung, Beratung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit von musealen Einrichtungen übernommen.

 

Meine Promotion zum Thema der internationalen und interkulturellen Kooperation von Museen in Mitteleuropa schloss ich im Februar 2006 ab. Direkt anschließend übernahm ich für zwei Jahre die wissenschaftliche Leitung des ZEB – Zentrum für Evaluation und Besucherforschung am Badischen Landesmuseum.

 

Seit 2008 arbeite ich nun selbständig und setze meine gesammelten Erfahrungen für meine Auftraggeber freiberuflich ein. Mit Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch stehen mir drei Arbeitssprachen zur Verfügung, die ich jederzeit verhandlungssicher einsetzen kann.

 

Als engagiertes Mitglied von ICOM, dem internationalen Museumsrat, wurde ich von 2009 bis 2013 in den Vorstand von ICOM Deutschland gewählt. In das Strategic Plan Committee einberufen (2010-2011) habe ich zur Entwicklung des strategischen Plans 2011-2013 von ICOM beigetragen. Zudem bin ich bei ICOM CECA, dem Internationalen Komitee für Museumspädagogik und Vermittlung, aktiv. Ich bin ebenfalls Mitglied vom GRMP (Groupe de recherche sur les musées et le patrimoine), einer Gruppe von Forschern im Bereich Museen und Kulturerbe in Frankreich.

 

Meine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Besucher in Museen und kulturellen Einrichtungen sowie die interkulturellen Aspekte im Museum.